A Child Called “It” by Dave Pelzer – Book Review

photo 5 (1)

Summary:

In this book, Dave Pelzer writes about his own, personal experience with child abuse. He was brutally beaten and starved by his own mother all through primary school. She constantly tortured him with her ‘games’ that could have and should have killed him, but he wasn’t going to let her have that satisfaction. Even when he wasn’t considered part of the family anymore, forced to live in the basement, considered a slave instead of a person, he still kept going and would not let his mother win.

Personal thoughts/opinions:

I read this book because I know that I’m going to have to read this for one of my classes. I don’t remember what year, but it’s still good to at least have the general story in my head so that when I have to read it again, it will be easier for me to pick up and comprehend things. I’ve learnt my lesson from this year, and I need to really soak up the information and remember them properly, even read it at least twice. It’s also a short book and I wanted to read a short book to get me into reading because I haven’t read anything in the past 3 days or so.

I think the writing was a bit all over the place (kind of like mine). Sometimes, I can’t understand what is going on or what his main point was. I felt like the order was not right sometimes as well. Whether it’d be the event order or just the writing order, where a certain sentence should have came first before this certain sentence. I’m not completely sure if the writer was a real proper author but I still appreciate his courage to tell his story. It takes a lot in a person to sit down, reminisce about this dark time in your life and write about it. Writing about something like this, you’d have to be imagining that event repeatedly as well too to really get it written properly and personally, I don’t have the strength to do that, so three cheers for you Pelzer. Some people might even say that that is self-destructive.

Reading his story definitely touched me. It touched me in a way where it reminded me again why I treated people nicely. Anyone can be going through something and being nice to them can mean so much more to them than you think it will. It might possibly even change their life. In school, I do try my best to be nice to people. I’m not perfect, so sometimes, of course, I’ll have these little (sometimes big) fits of anger and I say something hurtful to someone when I really don’t mean it. I never like it when I do this and I try to apologize as much as I can because, if they were, for example, going through something like this, I possibly had just made that person feel more negative when they needed something positive. Next time when I feel angry and there are people around, I’m going to think of this story and how that person can be having troubles at home, possibly even abused at home, and hopefully it will help me not lash out to them. The ratio for abuse is 1 in 5 and that’s really high, so that means some people I know might be being abused at home and I’d like so much to avoid hurting them more than they are already hurting.

Also, what I’ve learned is that you cannot ignore the signs. If there are signs of bruises or scars, I will ask that person if I can talk to them privately and ask about them. If they talk, I’ll help them tell someone. If they don’t feel comfortable talking, I’m going to report in a possible abuse, because they don’t deserve that, nobody deserves to be abused. No matter what they might think, nobody deserves all that pain and sorrow.

This is a topic that is not easy to read, so if you can’t cope with dark or heavy things like this, this isn’t the book for you. If you think you can handle subject matters like this, I highly recommend it because some people have no idea how common this is and they need to broaden their minds to matters that are actually happening in this world.

I gave this book a 4 out of 5 stars. I gave it a 4 instead of a 5 because like I said, I had just a tiny bit of problem with the writing and although this was a book with a heavy concept, it was written very well for it because it could have been written in another way, but this was just the way for it to be written. Generally speaking, not specifically anyways. If we were talking specifics, it had problems.

Started: 30 June 2014    Finished: (same sitting) 30 June 2014

 

– Princess Diana

Happy Reading

One thought on “A Child Called “It” by Dave Pelzer – Book Review

  1. Pingback: June Wrap Up | Hot Cuppa Books

Leave a Reply

