Tuesdays With Morrie by Mitch Albom – Book Review

Hey guys, I hope you are having a really nice day. My name is Princess Diana. This is what I thought of Tuesdays with Morrie. And welcome to my blog.

Image

 

I purchased this book this weekend. It was really nice to finally see the bookstore with this again. I’ve waited for them to restock on this for so long. I saw that there was only one more copy left, so I had to get it.

Summary:

Morrie, if I can remember properly, is a 76 year old man who has found out that he has a terminal disease called amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS) and he won’t live for much longer. Though on a death sentence, he still seems to put some positive thinking into everything. He’s become some kind of a guru to the rest of the world with words almost philosophical.

He was featured on a TV news show and that’s when Mitch, Morrie’s student 16 years ago, finds out about his old professor. After years of not seeing his favorite teacher, hearing about Morrie made Mitch want to see him again. And so he did, even if he was dying.

That ensued a continuation of classes for both of them. Morrie the teacher once again and Mitch the student. Mitch would come by on Tuesdays and listened diligently to Morrie’s lesson on life. But every Tuesday that they meet, Morrie is getting sicker and sicker and death coming closer and closer.

 

Personal thoughts/opinions:

I loved this book. Never have I ever learned more about life than in this book. This is a book I’ll definitely be picking up constantly even through my adulthood. Reading this was a life-changing process and I HIGHLY recommend this book.

When reading a book, I like to tab things in my book that I really like. In this book, I tabbed a whole bunch of quotes. Even though it’s not the most tabbed book on my shelf, it definitely is the most tabbed for quotes alone.

Image

As you can see, I tabbed quite a lot of things.

 

Even though the words were beautiful and perfect, as usual there are things I don’t like about it.

This is a non-fiction book so I have no problem with the story, but I do have a problem with how it was written. Once again, it’s a book with flashbacks and mini-stories in between the current chapter. From all the books I’ve read of his, I noticed that they’re all written like this. I’m getting used to it, but I’m still not a big fan of this type of writing style. It throws me off.

For that reason, I gave this book a 4 out of 5 stars. I would’ve given it 5 stars but I’m really not a big fan of that type of writing.

But I’ll definitely be rereading this book a bunch of times and if anyone asks for recommendations from me, I’ll be giving them this.

Started: 21 June 2014      Finished: 22 June 2014

 

Happy Reading

4 thoughts on “Tuesdays With Morrie by Mitch Albom – Book Review

  1. I loved (love?) this book. Hooked me on the author and, better yet, the concepts within. Brilliant and timely. Thanks for the review. Oh, and I love that first picture with the lights, bed, and bookshelf: looks like a cozy reading nook.

  2. Pingback: Top 14 Books of 2014 | Hot Cuppa Books

Leave a Reply

